Nikmati . Thưởng thức . สนุก . 請享用 . Sekeca . 楽しい . Enjoy . استمتع . наслаждаться .

Flight training and aviation work, in the USofA.


Coming events

Some nice resources and links for your flight training in the USofA.

Current deals

Reminders. Stay fresh!

'The FAA doesn’t care if you kill yourself, but it does take issue with you putting other people’s life at risk. While the only requriement for your own life is a review every 24 months, you have additional requirements if you want to carry your friends.

So, in the preceding 90 days you must have made the following:'

  • Three takeoffs and landings as the sole manipulator of the flight controls. You must also do this in the same category and class aircraft. If the aircraft you are flying requires a type rating then these takeoffs and landings have to be in the same type aircraft. If you need a refresher on the difference between category, class and type click here to read a quick article.

'These don’t need to be made to a full stop. So, do three touch and gos, and you’re good! Go get that $100 burger.

Are you flying your passengers at night? If so, you have to do three takeoffs and landings at night. The FAA defines night as: one hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise. Don’t know when the sunrises? Google it. They also have to be to a full stop. Touch and gos don’t work for the night requirement.'

Quoted from.

For specific wording on the regulation go to 14 CFR 61.57.


In other words. 

Your licence is valid for a period of 5 years.

Your rating to fly single engine piston aeroplanes is valid for 2 years. You need to fly 12 hours (6 of which must be p1, 1 hr dual with an instructor) in the last 12 months of this period for the licence to be revalidated 'by experience'.

If however, during this period you haven't flown for a period, to fly passengers you will need to have completed 3 take-off and landings within the last 90 days. Thats the rules of the land. 

Is there something on this site you would like me to correct or to go into more depth on email us at

Medical currency. 


Understanding Airman Medical Standards

The FAA issues three classes of medical certificates: 

A first class medical is required for pilots who exercise airline transport pilot (ATP) privileges; that is, those flying scheduled airliners and other pilots whose employers require this level of certification. A first class medical is valid for ATP privileges for twelve months for pilots under age 40. Pilots who are age 40 and older must renew First class medical certificates every six months.

A Second class is required for pilots who fly commercially—in operations such as crop dusting, delivering canceled checks, or carrying passengers or cargo for hire. The Second class medical is valid for commercial privileges for 12 months.

A Third class medical certificate is appropriate for student pilots, recreational pilots, and private pilots who fly for pleasure or personal business (but not for hire). A third class medical is valid for 60 months for pilots under age 40, and 24 months for applicants who are age 40 or older.

Updated March 2017

Excerpt from below  .